A Successful Day

I was up before dawn this morning to go and try and get a sunrise ........... something I never normally do.

Slight panic set in when I couldn't find the key for the hire car.
It turned up in a hidden crease inside my camera bag thank goodness.

There was no big, dramatic, colourful sunrise -- more a gentle sliding out from behind the heavy cloud cover.

But as it developed I knew what I wanted to get as regards this boat and lighthouse.
For once the plan came together and I actually get several shots I am really pleased with.

After the sun did make its appearance and "the moment" had passed we were lucky enough to have a couple of fly pasts from this Heron.
Again I got several shots I was reasonably happy with.

So after all this - and getting wet feet from boulder hopping (to stay dry) and finding out the boulders were actually big, round piles of mud with moss growing on them and standing on piles of gravel that acted like quicksand - we headed into the local hotel and persuaded them to feed us breakfast.
And excellent food it was to.

The staff were all very friendly (it seems to be a trait of the native Skye population).
Even their pet seemed pleased to see us.
(yes - it is a cheat).

During the late afternoon I headed down to the beach to take some more pictures (the 250+ from this morning was not enough) but found it packed. (This place is miles down a single track road ............where do they all come from?). So I ended up talking to a 'local' who has stayed in Glasgow for over 50 years but has bought and renovated a derelict cottage as a holiday home so he can come back to where he grew up for some peace and quiet ---- just not today judging by the number of folk milling about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.