This is what you get when you stick your thingy out of a car window in the early hours of the morning. I have no idea what it's a picture of, as I was keeping my eyes on the road whilst taking it. I went into town with a colleague for a late (free) meal after finishing a piece of work for tomorrow ( and also doing a bit of blipping).

He was telling me that our industrial nurse was in one of our factories in the Midlands to do some medicals, but she was having a bit of a problem with the worker's names. The reason for this is that they only refer to each other by their nicknames, and so in the morning, the factory manager told her that at 10 o'clock she would see "Bison", after that, "tater-head" and to finish would be "sausage-picker"

She never found out how "tater-head" got his name, but apparently, Bison smells a bit and his skin is always falling off.
"Sausage-picker" earned his nickname when sometime in the past his colleagues told him that there was a well-paid part-time job in the local farmers field bringing in the sausage harvest. Apparently he phoned the farmer for an application form.

A long time ago whilst in Belgium, I got to know some mad scaffolders, one of which was nicknamed "Dim". I asked him once how he got his name, but he told me he had no idea why they called him that, but he assured me that it wasn't because he was stupid.
Sometime later I asked his mates why they called him "Dim", and they told me it was because he was stupid. I further enquired as to his whereabouts as he wasn't around , and they told me that a couple of nights earlier he'd got pissed, fell down the stairs and was too embarrassed to come out because of the carpet burns on his head.

Salt of the earth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.