Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Sunny bedroom

More sunny bedroom...

A whole day to myself to listen to Pandora, watch the cleaners making the house immaculate, sort the boys clothes and sit back to admire the construction project of last year, two stories and the interiors.

I've always been interested in interior design and started studying it by distance learning with a London based school whilst living in Florida, but it became the one thing I think I completely gave up on for many reasons. Perhaps because interiors actually interested me less than architectural planning which for our extension/addition here, I drew up and then gave to an architect to convert into formal plans. I'm proud of this work having designed it myself from the ground up and given much consideration to spatial planning, how the rooms flow together, where the light falls in deciding which room should be where, ergonomics and universal design principles.

My friend (and former nursie) Jenn has just arrived, I'm finishing my Blip, we're drinking beer and she just offered me an empanada and I asked if it's veggie. She replied "Yes, it's only got a little bit of chicken in it". I'm not veggie, but 'twas funny all the same...

We watch the movie Possession after a Mexican dinner. A lovely evening formerly spent tickling the boys on the sofa.

(PS yes Callum is nearly 3 and is still in his crib. He loves it. Meanwhile, the new Pottery Barn beds still sit in boxes...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.