Shaaamie

By Shaaamie

I Miss You ...

Joseph Anthony "Joey" Barton (born 2nd September 1982)

Joey Barton ... Political Philosopher, rabble-rouser, agent provocateur, tweeter and sometime footballer ... I miss you.

The memories are great and the best of them is ...

Newcastle United V Arsenal (5th February 2011)

Send for the cliché police, this was the ultimate game of 2 halves. Arsenal were 4 - 0 up at half time and Newcastle were dead and buried.

The second half begins and Joey makes a meaty challenge on an Arsenal player, who retaliates and is sent off. The 51,000 Geordies watching awaken from their slumbers and roar their team on. Newcastle score a goal (Thank you, Joey), then another and then a third (Thank you again, Joey). A noise storm engulfs St. James' Park.

Its 4-3 and Newcastle are awarded a corner. There are 3 minutes of the 90 left. Joey takes the corner. The ball is cleared into the air and lands on Chiek Tiote's foot, 25 yards out. He hits an unstoppable volley. It's one of those 'slow motion' moments in life. It's a thing of beauty. It's 4-4.

Before I know it, I'm kissing the tattooed skinhead beside me and being hugged by complete strangers. The noise is deafening. The old man behind me is in tears. The little lad, who's been brought to the game by his dad, looks bewildered. It's mayhem.

The referee blows his whistle for full-time.

I'm emotionally drained. I've lost my voice. My hearing's 'up the creak'. My body aches. I can't stop smiling. We sing in the streets ...

Thank you, Joey. I miss you. I'll see you tomorrow night when you play for your new team, QPR against your old team, Newcastle United at the Bush.

Howay The Lads.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.