Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

Memories of Douglas Number 10

CITY GENT

After my late husband Douglas left the police force in 1960 he worked for an insurance company at their Head Office in Holborn, London. He lived in Orpington, Kent so he did the daily commute on the train.

At that time he dressed like your typical city gent - suit, white shirt, tie, umbrella and bowler hat. (This was well before I knew Douglas... but then a lot of my memories of Douglas are from before I knew him . Because he talked of past events so much I did get to know a lot about his life before we met.

Douglas spent about 15 or more years working in London and then the opportunity for promotion came up. A few of the Divisional Offices needed Managers so Douglas applied. The jobs were in - amongst other locations - Brighton and Newcastle. Brighton was very popular and had a lot of interest. Newcastle - surprisingly - was not so popular.

Douglas got promoted to Newcastle - he always said (I hope in jest) that he only got promoted to Newcastle because no-one else applied to go there. Good job he did get the position up here - if not then I wouldn't have met him.

Will blip tomorrow about his working life in Newcastle.

Anyway back to this ere bowler 'at. I took a few shots of it ....... boring- just a black hat. Then I realised that the inside of it was far more interesting.

Its beautiful inside. A leather lined brim with pleated cream silk in the centre. The wording in the centre says " G A Dunn and Co Ltd, Piccadilly Circus, 373,4,5 The Strand.London." It is stamped in gold lettering around the leather brim with the words " Long Oval " and " Best Roan Leather " - apparently this is sheepskin.

In the time I knew him Douglas never wore his bowler outdoors - just round the house as a joke. He would sometimes appear with it on whilst wearing his jogging gear etc. My son- in law showed an interest in it but unfortunately it doesn't fit him.... too big.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.