Learning day by day

By EmmaF

1st Day at School

She was so excited this morning. I didn't get many good shots so I am glad I took some of her after she practised putting on her uniform last week. However the Blip had to be Carys so here is a portrait of one excited little girl.

We walked to school with our neighbours, Carys holding Rs hand, not mine. When we got to school we went on to the reception class gate and went in. Carys immediately put her hand into Mrs L's (the teacher) and didn't really look back.

I waited outside chatting to a couple of friends and saw her come into one of the small rooms with a TA and her friend L. When I picked her up she told me that L had been crying so she had sat with her until she stopped. L has been going for a week now, surely it should have been the other way round?

So she came home with two stars, for being tidly dressed and for sitting and working nicely, and homework. A phonics sheet, I was quite prepared for this. What I wasn't prepared for was the fact that being a perfectionist it would take her an hour to do! No complaints, it just had to be perfect. Not sure how to deal with this really, she has to speed up as we can't take an hour for each sheet. Any suggestions?

Tomorrow is op day for William. Starting to feel nervous about that now.

Edit: when Daddy came home Carys said her stars were for walking in to school nicely and for sitting and working nicely. Makes more sense than being dressed tidily, as she did go into school with no fuss what so ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.