CarolineJay

By CarolineJay

ZEPPELIN

I went to the park looking for autumnal pics today, and instead came
across this which I haven't noticed before. Hartlepool was badly hit
during the First World War, partly because of its fortified position
on the north-east coast and also because its heavy industry and
shipbuilding made it a prime target. There was a devastating bombardment by the German navy causing hundreds of casualties, mainly civilian, and Zeppelin raids continued throughout the war. I don't know the details of the bomb commemorated by this stone, but it might have been dropped on November 27th 1916 by a Zeppelin which was later shot down over the coast. There's a fascinating story about the raid here, complete with an old photo of the Zeppelin caught in searchlights.
I'll be back at the Park for more blippertunities I noticed which hadn't struck
me until I joined this great community!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.