Rococo

By Ariel

Masterchef

This is a wall of photographs in the undeniably charming little gem of a cafe, Masterchef in Sheffield. (Unrelated, I assume, to Gordon Ramsay's hit(?) U.S. TV show of the same name).

Anything cool about this photo has absolutely nothing to do with me as a photographer (as if I even just called myself that), but is owed solely to the cafe's eccentric yet comforting atmosphere, that even still, I did not come close to accurately capturing. Unfortunately for me, I only took one photo because I felt self-conscious. The cafe is pretty tiny, and at that moment I could have sworn every table had joined in a coordinated pause in conversation. Not to mention the question-mark expression on my colleague's face across from me, combined with my general awkwardness. (This may have all been in my head; I doubt anyone cared that much).

I initially planned on taking a photo of my plate, but by the time I remembered this, I had already eaten everything. Not the first time that has happened, either. Anyway, I am already back in Manchester, but the next time I am in Sheffield I will be back to Masterchef for more fresh, local food and hopefully some better photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.