An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Love is....a grandpa

Very late blip today. Have been very short on time as I've been working, David and Alan both at home with bad colds and mum's back in hospital so was visiting her.

I am annoyed with myself that today's photo is such poor quality. I so wanted to do this writing desk and clock justice as they mean so much to me, but time and energy ran out.

The clock and the writing desk both belonged to my grandparents. The clock was their wedding gift from their best man (as was the tradition). I'm not sure of the origins of the writing desk. Like the clock, it was always just there in their house. Perhaps it was a wedding gift too.

My memories of the clock are of it sitting in their living room, on top of a huge, beautifully and decoratively carved mahogany sideboard (which we persuaded my gran to get rid off and replace with a modern unit circa 1983! Doh!) All through my childhood its reassuring tick- tock mesmerised me and its gentle chimes were a delight. One of the highlights of a Sunday afternoon was getting to hold the huge key (it seemed huge in my little hand) in the keyholes in the face of the clock, with my grandpa's huge hand on top of mine, gently guiding me and turning the key to give the clock it's weekly wind up.

The writing desk sat at my grandpa's side of the bed (in place of a bedside table) and was his pride and joy. He was a coal miner and although proud of his mining roots, I always think he had a hankering to write. He had the most beautiful handwriting and another of my most cherished possessions is a photograph of me taken when I was about 6 weeks old, with my name written by my grandpa on the mount, in beautiful gold copperplate handwriting.

I was so incredibly close to my grandpa. He really was more of a dad than a grandpa. He was so handsome, with an incredible sense of humour and such a twinkle in his eye. A modern man before the term was even invented. Never too proud to help with housework, do the washing, look after the kids / grandkids / do the shopping. He could even cook! :))

It is 22 years ago today that my grandpa died - 6 weeks to the day after giving me away at my wedding. I am so so thankful that he was there to share our day. One of my fav wedding snaps is of him sitting at the top table, with my gran's fancy wedding hat plonked on his head, and that twinkle in his eye! :))

Having lived in 3 modern houses since we got married, the writing desk and clock have always been a little out of place. Now that we are moving to an old house, they will at last have found their proper home. And every time I look at them, I will continue to remember how blessed I was to have the best grandpa (and gran) in the whole wide world.

Love you Gramps :)))

"Grandfathers are not just a relative. Grandfathers are those special men who know how to cherish, nourish, help, cuddle, and advise their grandchild." Byron Pulsifer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.