Matchless?

Today, at lunchtime at The Local, Elvis was usurped by 30 or so vintage motorcycles and 30 or so vintage bikers.

During the war my mother was, amongst other things, a motorcycle outrider for the fire brigade. In the days before mobile phones, she tells me, she would go to the fire with the tender and roar back to the fire station to request further tenders if needed!
So I wandered over to The Local, just in case there was a Matchless - the bike she rode - and low and behold there was, although this model is from the 1950's. She was thrilled when I showed her the pictures.


..... Meanwhile back in Ireland..... Harry Stocracy Part 3....

What fun Harry Stocracy and I had, three crazy days, full of laughter, picnics and adventures.
We visited some beautiful parts of southern Ireland and met some fascinating locals.
We helped our hosts prepare for the party they were throwing for friends and clients on our last day.

I probably don't need to tell you, the Irish certainly know how to party! There were guests from Italy, France and much to my surprise, and his, a guy I know from very close to home... Tom Two.

Ireland was over far too quickly. Harry Stocracy and I caught the same plane back and went our separate ways.... Me, with a permanent grin, back to my little cottage and work, and he, with a wry smile, to his estate in the Shires, and play.


Since starting this Blip Journey, it would seem as if thinking about people from the past has brought them back into my life because, sitting outside The Local today in the autumn sun, with a bottle of Rioja, and separate from the vintage bikers, was a friend I hadn't seen for a long time... almost unbelievably ... Tom Two......!

But I'll save him for another time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.