Shaken but not stirred....

Beijing rocked today and I didn't have my camera. The mobile phone had to do. It was about 2.30pm when all of a sudden I felt a little queasy at my desk and felt as though I was about to faint. It wasn't until a colleague said 'Guys, there's an earthquake' and I saw the blinds moving and the door closing that I realised what was happening. The whole building was swaying in a slow but definite movement and when you're 21 floors up it's not the best place to be. Not that the area outside was particularly safe either, with all the high-rises, but what do you do? The swaying happened for a minute or so, before we decided that evacuation would be a better plan than getting under our desks...

It was something I'd never experienced before. Quite frightening really but I will probably get in the lift and hit the button for the 21st floor without a thought tomorrow. She says!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.