a town called E.

By Eej

Too.Much.FUN!


Out of bed, into the car, with blue skies and a lovely breeze off to Ft. Custer Recreational Area near Battle Creek we go.
We stop at the National Cemetery across the street which is solemn and quiet and gorgeous and we have been warned to not be boisterous but who wants to be boisterous at a cemetery? I just want to sit and cry ... and I don't even know any of these people.
Then to the park, with a stop at the Kalamazoo River first. A sign tells us we can't boat or fish because they are still cleaning up the 2010 Enbridge oil spill which surprises us a bit. You don't hear anything about it on the local news, and since it's been a year I figured they would be done.
We encounter the very friendly Kevin from Louisiana who drives a fan-boat, and proudly so. He is already cold and he's only been in Michigan 3 weeks. He also thinks our 'skeeters are nuthin' compared to the Louisiana ones. (Note to self: steer clear of the south) Kevin explains the process of the clean-up and why it is taking so long. Part of it is that people have used the river as a dump. So, in order to get the oil from the bottom they first have take out all the trash. The other part is that if the water is cold, the oil doesn't come floating up when they shake the soil but stays down so they can't get it.
Then he lets me photograph the fan-boat which I do because he is so lovely but there is a tree in the way. And I don't care much about fan-boats.

I ask if I can take his photo (Woot! Second time!) and he lets me, as long as I am not going to use it on the news or sumthin'. I promise.

We say goodbye and go to explore further. There are grasshoppers and horses and more beautiful blue skies and white fluffy clouds and frogs and butterflies and gulls and crystal clear lakes and doggies and we save a caterpillar and check out a campsite and walk and laugh and talk and I take many, many photos.

Then to Kalamazoo for groceries but the Beloved wants to see how Bell's (new) Brewery looks and we shall have a beer in the garden which we do but ooooooooh, I am so tired the beer makes me feel funny. And we still need groceries. Onwards we go and we have the windows open and sing along with Pink Floyd.

Normally we don't see any people we know but now we see two and we talk and laugh and talk some more.

When we come home I need to lay down. And then eat pizza and icecream.

I've had entirely too much fun today and if I could I'd do it all again tomorrow; I like myself so much better when I'm having fun.


ps. It looks good in B&W as well, but today was SO not a B&W day. It was very much about enhanced senses and saturation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.