Day to day today

By Jewels4663

Deal Maritime Folk Festival

I've had a bit of an odd day - I found my neighbour's dead body in the morning. He was 93 and had died in his sleep; the perfect way to go. I didn't know him well but another neighbour kept a check on him, and asked me to go into his house with her when she couldn't get any answer from his phone or door. He just looked like he was asleep.

After we'd given statemetns to the police, we went out together - I think we both needed to get out of the house and talk about what had happened. We had a lovely lunch at the Black Pig in Staple, then on the way back through Deal saw that there was a conglomeration of Morris Dancers on the sea front.

It was all part of the Deal Maritime Folk Festival, and there were several groups of dancers from around the county - and probably further afield - giving a bit of a display. I've seen this group before, and like the blacked out faces and costumes; it seems a bit pagan! They all seemed to be having a good time anyway!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.