Capital adventures

By marchmont

Book Club

Fast forward to Sunday 6th November and you'll be able to hear what I've been up to today. In case you can't wait, it was the recording of BBC Radio 4's 'Book Club' at the NLS and you might even hear me as I asked the last question. But then again I may be edited out.

The presenter is Jim Naughtie, the author Iain Banks and the book 'The Wasp Factory'. It was good fun being there (and we got a glass of wine or two), watching and listening. Although I enjoyed listening to Iain Banks talking about the novelist's craft, chatting with Jim Naughtie was definitely the highlight. The 'Today' programme will never be the same again and ... he's a fellow Edinburgh resident now. Look out for him in Morningside.

This is the representatives from 'our', the SBC, Book Club, V, S and me with Iain Banks (in the blue shirt) and James Naughtie (in the suit). (Btw, Naughtie, if you don't know, isn't pronounced like 'naughty', it's 'noch' as in 'loch' then 'ti'. Ok?) Afterwards the three of us from SBC repaired to 'Villager' for pink prosecco and small bites. Mmmm!

Didn't do much else today. I swam this morning, and was amazed that, despite the local holiday, the pool was nearly empty. I fiddled away time on the laptop and I had a big X-ray taken of my mouth. And I traversed the eerily quiet Princes Street, now closed for the return of the tram works. Another 10 months to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.