The second half of life..

By twigs

Doin' the ducky ducky shake

After yesterday's grumpiness today was a good day :) It's amazing how small things can have such big impacts, especially on moods and feelings.

Was going to head home quickly after school but got stuck into a few tasks that I was enjoying doing - things connected with planning for new approaches - and ended up staying way later than I'd intended. It felt good nevertheless.

Dropped in to see ducklings on the way home and managed to snap this funky wee shaker very early on. (Made me wonder whether this is the ducky equivalent of a child learning to walk?) Pretty cute, and whilst it's not sharp I still liked the shot, especially his wee open beak and his eye that looks like it's not quite keeping up with the head shake!

On a sad note, I noticed a squabble going on in the reeds on the other side of the pond. After a wee flurry of feathers and squawks a pukeko emerged, took off and flew to my side of the pond carrying something in it's beak. It was only after he landed that I was able to see that it was a little wee duckling he was carrying. I moved to try to scare him off after he put it onto the grass but he was too sharp for me, picked it up and flew over to the island in the middle of the pond. There were a few squeaks of fear then nothing.......

Nature - it can be so beautiful and so very cruel all at the same time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.