Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Tulipa Asticplasidous Stupidium

Opened the doors this morning to a beautiful clear sky, a quite rare occurrence here in Indonesia. "Going to be great lighting for a blip" was my first thought, excited at being able to take a macro without flash. Alas, no bug life visible.

My security guy has slightly green fingers and has arranged about a dozen pots of plants on the wall. None of them doing particularly well, as they have very little shading from the fierce heat for most of the day, but I water them occasionally when my plants look particularly shriveled thirsty. Personally, I do not have green fingers, as you can plainly see from the blip.

Amongst the pots greenery were a few tulip like heads, that seemed to be doing quite well despite the fierce heat. Their coloring was not that impressive, due to the dusty grime that is prevalent next to a busy road, but reckoned that I could fix that in post.

I set a smallish aperture, but still maintaining hand held speed. I had to shoot several frames, as there was a light breeze, moving everything around. Confident of having a couple of good shots, I returned to the lab and pulled the results up onto my screen. Like I have said a few times, you do not really see the subject until you have photographed it. In this case, no truer words have I ever spoken.

I dashed back down to the potted wall to examine the buds more closely. Sure enough, Tulipa Asticplasidous Stupidium, the stupidium of course referring to me. It seems that my security guys green fingers are not as developed as his sense of humor. My excuse is that I am useless without my glasses. I know, not that convincing as excuses go, so feel free to have a laugh at my expense.

I decided to blip it anyway, for its entertainment value.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.