Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Four up

I was shooting some other ideas when I spotted this bus load coming down the road. A quick setting adjustment and they were mine. That panning practice is starting to pay off. I know, it wasn't long ago that I posted a panned bike shot, so forgive me, but this one was too cute not to blip. I had a feeling that I had the shot right, as the panning was nicely centered. I was using auto focus and spot metering, but this means that I cannot hold the button half down, you have to auto focus and shoot in one smooth movement. A preset manual focus would have been safer, but there wasn't time. Straight up to the lab, pulled up the frame and grinned, that'll do for today.

They could see me from way up the road and as they got closer I waved. Momma doesn't look to pleased about my antics, but Granny waved back with a big smile, pity I could not have caught that, but my camera takes too long to process and prepare for the next shot. I'll get the trailing shots when I upgrade. I think I can see a real family resemblance, especially between the little girl and granny. I think Momma has real beauty, she could definitely keep me in line with one of those stares.

Safety issues aside, there is a lot of Indonesia in this blip. It reaches back to my previous texts about the number one mode of transport being the motorbike and the number one choice of footwear being the flip-flop. I doubt you would ever see Valentino Rossi circling Brands Hatch in flip-flops, but if he came Bandung's city circuit he may well get the impression that flip-flops were compulsory.

Another notable point in this blip, is the mode of dress. Indonesia is the largest Islamic population in the world. Indonesians greatly respect their religion but don't get all crazy over it. Women do not cover their faces and wear glasses over their eyes. A few wear head scarves, but life is too challenging to be concerned about such details. All Indonesian women dress respectfully and sensibly for the practicalities of their daily life. Young girls wear long skirts and head gear for school, with the face open, but ready to pull a flap of scarf across their face as they walk past me. Personally, I think that they have got it right. Women are definitely not second class citizens in Indonesia.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.