rack focus

By noahd1

Machu Picchu (Peru 10/16)

I had some vague notion around blip 200, that I wanted to maybe do a self-portrait for my year anniversary blip. What I was not anticipating was 1) it would take me so long to reach my anniversary blip 2) that I'd ever be going to Machu Picchu and that 3) I could somehow coincide my anniversary blip with the ascent of that phenomenal site.

With a lot of luck (and ok, 1 uninspiring back blip to *ahem* make things kind of fit right), I guess it's come together.

This is a shot from Wayna Picchu, or "Young Peak", a mountain with hundreds of Incan steps that lead you to an incredible view of Machu Picchu from above. You have to reserve in advance the privilege of climbing this thing - it is steep, a bit slippery and narrow in parts, and fairly taxing work to get up there. But yes, it is of course worth it all. We began the climb with a misty overcast sky after rains poured down on Machu Picchu, not knowing if we would have a view at all. We were pleased to discover that the sky cleared out at about the same pace we were summiting. By the time we reached the summit, we had an unobstructed view of the Machu Picchu.

Thanks to everyone for checking in to my journal when you can. My vacation re-affirmed my love for photography, but also the power of stepping away from it all occasionally. Viewing the world through a viewfinder sometimes, and other times experiencing it for what it really is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.