Irish vernacular 3

Morning at work followed by quick sortie into Bantry for essentials. Continuing with my mini series on Irish vernacular buildings, I 've had my eye on this one for a while. As is common, this is the original farmhouse but a spanking new ugly one has been built right next to it, and this little house is now used for storage. I love the way it nestles perfectly against the hill and looks so right. I also like the way the shed for the animals was built right against the shelter for the humans. The new building is a boring square box and sticks out like a sore thumb. The patriotic standing stone is also an interesting touch!!

Thanks for all the tips re drying herbs. I now have mint, tarragon, dill and oregano drying in papers bags in the polytunnel (plus rice in the bottom!!); I've frozen some mint in water; and some more mint is drying in a slow oven. Something should work!

The old boy that strims around the school says the heatwave is off - at least for our neck of the woods. Guess what, it's going to be raining instead! So far his prediction is looking all too accurate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.