Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Setting Sail

The weather this morning was glorious and I decided to take the few empty bottles we had in the house to the bottle bank. Of course this was a blipping ploy as the bottle bank is next to the harbour where there is always an opportunity for a blip. Can't use the ploy too often however or the folk at the harbour might think I am an alcoholic!

The strange thing about the few fishing boats that still use the harbour is they tend to work 9-5 Monday to Friday. When herring was the main catch they would go out at dusk and be back at dawn, unless they had a big catch for the market in Ayr. When I arrived today at 10 o'clock the big boats were away leaving a couple of small ones and a yacht, which was preparing to depart.

I took a number of shots of the yacht leaving, some including one of the fishing boats which left at the same time. I thought the contrast between the smart white yacht and the rather grubby old fishing boat would make an interesting contrast. However I didn't like these shots and settled instead on the lone yacht setting its mainsail into the fresh westerly wind. I think its the different shades of blue I like with the net in the foreground making the sea look almost tropical...well at a quick glance it might!

The yacht headed north and I guess home after the holiday weekend. Meantime the last of the Swallows were darting about for a final meal before they fly south. Summer is well and truly over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.