Ausmossie

By ausmossie

Old Lady

This type of pic has been done before HERE by wingpig. It is actually next to my only 'rated' pic. But I think that is part of the reason why we come to blip. To learn.. As soon as I looked that the pic in the viewer on the cam, I knew it would look good like this.

I took one other 'real' pic today and although it was an iffy pic, the story behind it made it worthwhile. I struggled about which one to blip.. The good pic.. or the good story. Then, (not for the first time heheh) I thought to myself... "Self.. put on the pic and TELL the story"

When I looked out my kitchen window this morning around 8:00, there were lot of people all dressed up in fancy clothes waiting in the driveway between the apartment blocks.. Hmmm I thought,, Wedding. There was something else to the pic.. All the manholes (or personholes for the politically correct) were covered in red paper. I had an idea why but I checked it out at school before saying anything misleading. Of course... I was right.

Chinese people in general, don't like to walk ON a manhole because it is considered bad luck. I was told once, it's because of the running water under the manhole but I am not sure if that is the reason. The colour red... is a symbol of good luck and hence counters the bad luck of the manhole covers. The guests for the wedding were being picked up by a van from downstairs and that was the GOOD luck for them and the wedding couple.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.