Dolly's Day

By dollydoug

Memories of Douglas Number 21

Who am I ?

My late husband Douglas and I got engaged in London. He had been there through the week running a training course at Head Office and I went down for the weekend. We had a lovely weekend which included a trip out to Windsor.

We bought the engagement ring in H Samuel. Douglas had already said that he would not wear a wedding ring as he thought his " large rugby players hands " wouldn't suit one. He fancied the idea of an identity bracelet instead. So I decided to get one for him on the day of our engagement. I bought a chunky silver one for him in Selfridges in Oxford Street. Then we went down into the basement to have it engraved.

Douglas wore his bracelet every single day. It was always my job to fasten it. If he was away from home on his own, he would take his bracelet and struggle a bit to put it on himself. It was the only piece of jewellery he ever wore.

So this was one well used bracelet and something Douglas treasured from the day he got it.

( 10 years ago today was the day Douglas had his 2nd stroke . He had been in hospital since the first one and it had seemed as though he might be OK. Even after this 2nd stroke we still had some hope that he would pull through. )

****** Neil update. He is island hopping, having parties on the beach and snorkeling. So he seems to be fine. ( I breathe a sigh of relief)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.