Way of Life

By wayoflife

Man

Amazingly, I've been on blipfoto for almost a year now. To lead up to the big 3-6-5 I thought I would do something a little bit different and write a little about some of the photographers and photographs that have had an effect on the photos that I take and post here. I'm no expert so feel free to let me know if you agree or disagree, or maybe if you have a suggestion for me to check out. So here we go:

Part 1: Daido Moriyama
Daido Moriyama's photos of Tokyo are what really attracted me to really get back into photography a few years ago. (I imagine this doesn't come as much of a surprise to those of you that have been following me for a while now.) Crooked, blurred, out of focus, and usually taken with a cheapo point-and-click, Moriyama's high-contrast shots show all the nooks and crannies that you probably won't see on the Travel Channel; this is Tokyo without the make-up. His book entitled "Shinjuku Plus" is a firm favorite in my collection.

Part 2: Jeff Wall

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.