send me back to the wild!

By davidpritchard

Light and shade

Another cat portrait today, for which I make no apologies. This is Jay, our rather aloof but laid back cat. He like to pretend he?s rather important, but actually he?s afraid of his own shadow. It was the shadows which caught my attention today. The warm evening light contrasts rather well with the bluer shaded areas against the peeling paint of a wooden door, to create a pleasing backdrop. I like simple shots like this which rely on quality light to work, and you?ve got to be quick. The light here lasted only moments.

When I put in my bid for the sample 18-270 for this project, I joked that love means never having the wrong lens on your camera. I?m starting to find that this is actually a really apt statement.

Nikon D300; Tamron 18-270mm @ 85mm; ISO 400; F/9; 1/320 second. VC on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.