Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Argentine Toothpick Cactus

I had this cactus, along with two other varieties, planted in my backyard, about a month ago. I thought I would take a photo of two of them on the first and second of October of each year to help document their growth.

This one, Stesonia Coryne is known as the toothpick cactus, for its long, thick spines, which can actually be used as toothpicks. This branching species is the only member of its genus, and forms large stands that can measure up to thirty feet in height.

It is native to Northwestern Argentina and is a hardy plant in So. AZ. It can reportedly withstand bouts of frost down to 18F. It is a night bloomer with pinkish white flowers.

The rinds of the fruits can be eaten raw while the entire fruit is eaten cooked. A moderately fast grower, coryne should be watered regularly throughout the summer for best growth.

I'm not sure I would have planted it in it's current location had I known in advance how tall it would become because it is going to partially block my view of the mountains. I blame the landscaper. It's about three feet tall right now.

The landscapers said it will resemble a saguaro, with arms branching off of it as it grows tall. It should be a pretty cactus. I'm looking forward to seeing a lot of change from year to year.

Big meeting today for a large political group of which I am the 1st Vice Chair. If there is a quorum, we are planning to oust the rather incompetent Chair. That would make me Acting Chair until we can organize new elections. I've been basically running the district and making all of the decisions since April anyway, so this is really only a formality, but in politics, a coup is a big thing. It's going to be an interesting day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.