The Blackcountry Man

By brickmaker

Black day at Ewhurst.......

Edit Photo.

I have withdrawn the photo as some people have found it not appropriate, I wish to say that I did not wish to cause offence, and am sorry for any distress that may have occured. Be it known that I am extremely sorry that this works is shutting and it was a really bad day for everyone concerned.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

This has been the worst day of my working life, I have just announce the Closure and mothballing of my works.

The brick market has just reached the lowest ever at 2Billion which has dropped from 2.4Billion the worst it has ever been historically.

Our company has had to bring drastic measures all over the country, many works will have to have long lay offs during the Autumn and Winter to reduce brick stocks.

Two works are to be closed, Steer Point in Devon and Ewhurst in Surrey which is mine.
The result is approx 40 are to be redundant at Ewhurst by the end of June, this has devistated everyone of us, shutting the nicest works with the best workforce you could wish to meet.

NOT A NICE DAY.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.