Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Heaven on Earth.

I had problems getting to sleep last night, and really didn't want to get up for work today.It's been a steady stream of repetitive, boring jobs today and all day long all I really wanted was to be at home. So lunchtime I decided to take a brisk walk (that's the blood pressure sorted then!) to my favourite spot in Bracondale woods. I plonked my backside down into a comfy cradle formed by the roots of my pals, the two trees I affectionately call the Ents (blipped 5th July), with my back resting against the trunk of one of them, to just listen to the birds, soak up the energy of the place and chill for a while. This blip was my view from where I sat, with the doorway to the remains of the old Memorial chapel ahead seen through the foliage. Here's what I saw to my left. . And this is looking up towards the sky between the 2 trees' trunks and foliage.
En route there is a tree with a strange girdle which runs round it's entire girth.
I don't know what it is about me and woodland and forests, it's just where I feel most at home. Even more so if there's water around, a stream maybe. Beaches and the sea? Not for me, spent much of my life by them and they do nothing for me. For me woodland and forests are a little bit of Heaven on Earth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.