Dubreyferkin Diaries

By StrictlyDavina

Golden Years

It was harvest in our church yesterday which meant that our harvest supper was tonight. I did plan on making harvest my blip theme for today, but changed my mind.

The reason for this is that today my parents celebrate 52 years of marriage. They are wonderful parents and I love them dearly. In today's society they have reached somewhat of a milestone. I suppose in years to come it will be very few who reach 30 or 40 years of marriage, let alone 50.

Two years ago, when it was their golden wedding, I was puzzling over what to buy them. What do you buy a couple who have been married for 50 years? They didn't want a party and I wanted to give them something to remember the whole day by. So,what I did in the end is treated them to a weekend in the Ritz in London. They started with afternoon tea on the Saturday afternoon and then a dinner dance that evening. I attended both with them but whilst they stayed at the Ritz that evening, I checked in to another hotel in Mayfair and joined them for breakfast the following day. Hopefully, that memory will stay with them forever and we joke now that when they reach 60 I will have to come up with something to beat that.

I have been extremely lucky to have two caring parents who have given me the gift of life, who care for me, who gave me a very happy childhood and who helped make me the person I am today. I am forever grateful for that and no present could ever repay them for what they have done and continue to do for me.

So I want to wish them both a very happy 52nd anniversary with many more happy years and memories to come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.