Another day goes by

By WelshSi

Have you still got your last one? October Origins

I put some stuff in the attic tonight, while I was up there something caught my eye. The image is of my last ever cigarette, sad I know but I have kept it in this cigar case for nearly 18 years.

17 years last Feb we were going to Brussels to stay with @LadyWL's friends for a long weekend. Knowing they didn't smoke and also I wouldn't be allowed to smoke in their flat the decision was made to grow up and kick the evil weed. The plan was perfect, I had 4 fags left on the morning we were flying from Cardiff. So it was one for breakfast, one before we left, one when we arrived at the airport and the last before we boarded the plane. Then it all went wrong, they called us early to board the plane, there was no time left to savour the delights of smoking, so it was stowed away some where safe where it has remained for nearly 18 years.

I am not one of those nasty miserable ex smokers as I enjoyed the experience, and I still love the smell of a freshly lit ciggy with a match. But the negatives so far out way the positives. At the time I said I would give up when they cost over £2 per packet, to prolong that I just smoked cheaper fags. If I were to smoke today I would be spending over £50 per week, the people who still smoke must be off their rocker, but thats just my opinion.

Be brave, give up, if not for you do it for someone else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.