LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

Who Are You Waiting On?

Backblip - due to going out to celebrate first day of two weeks off work and not getting home until Friday! Slightly 'cloudy' head this morning :-)

I like to think I am quite into my music but yesterday proved, yet again, that I am getting on a bit. Out for a walk at lunchtime to pick up a few things from the shops and spotted this crowd of people queued up outside HMW in Buchanan Street, streching round to Sauchiehall Street.

I asked who they were waiting on. "You Me At Six". Never heard of them, but the looks suggested that I clearly should know who they were. What time are they on? "Five". It was 2pm! Anyone in Glasgow yesterday will tell you that the day was pretty much torrential rain with momentary stops to allow you to dry out before getting soaked again. I hope their wait was worth it.

The power of the internet tells me that this band are tipped to be top of the UK album charts with their third album this Sunday. It certainly looked like you were getting plenty of sales from there yesterday.

The statue looking at the crowds is the late Donald Dewar the first First Minister of the reconvened Scottish Parliament. Standing waiting for bands doing PA's was something I would do in 'my youth'. But yesterday I stood on the steps of the Concert Hall with a puzzled look on my face. Are you taking photos for the paper one woman asked. Naw, my blipfoto I said and she walked away with a puzzled look on her face!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.