Gibbous moon

The early morning baking went well - goat's cheese and red onion tart (for Alex) and sausage rolls (for Ben)! Somehow I also managed to write my report and e-mail it before we set off for the birthday picnic. I had wondered whether it would happen as the day had dawned cool, grey and damp, but the sun appeared just before we were due to leave, and it turned into a fine typical October day.

We met up with our friends, and by the time we'd all unloaded our bags there was a veritable feast. We ate in warm sunshine, the boys taking their lunches off to a secret den - I think Alex was making the most of his last few days before man-hood! By the time we'd finished eating our spot was in shade, so we moved to a sunnier bench to continue our conversation.

Apparently out of nowhere, it started raining, and as it got heavier we three middle-aged women and two dogs retreated to the middle of a dense dogwood bush and sheltered under a rather ineffectual tarpaulin that we held over our heads. We must have looked very strange! Having got fairly wet we retreated to Emma's house for hot tea and comfortable settees.

I arrived home, not having taken a single photograph. I just can't do it when other people are around - they're too distracting! I hunted round the garden, but couldn't seem to find anything of interest. I pondered chasing a sunset, but I've the first inklings of a cold and just felt too tired to go out again. I then thought I might resort to a moth, but as I was going down the garden to check that the chickens were shut in, I noticed the moon rising.

It's ages since I've photographed the moon, and I've never done it before with my new 300mm. This was done hand-held and I'm quite pleased with the clarity. You can quite clearly see the ray crater Tycho on the bottom left-hand side, and the craters of Copernicus and Plato above. The dark patches are the various Seas - the darkest one just above and to the right of the centre of the image is the Sea of Tranquillity. The bright spot on the lower side of this almost marks the spot where Apollo 11 landed.

I'm hoping for a quiet weekend - and I hope all of you have a great time too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.