meccanica

By meccanica

day off

Where I work requires us to plan all our holidays in advance for the year (in order to avoid a massive build-up of holiday pay debt) so this year I added some slightly random days off.

Today was such a day. It was wet, cold and grey unfortunately but I did a few of the things I have been letting slip, like visiting Bill Currie and his business partner Wayne at Powerhouse Wind, one of Dunedin's many small, startup companies. It was great to see the work they've been doing although I was too late to see their latest prototype in the flesh as it is on a 10m high pole at Bill's house. Working.

After that little dose of bright, shiny, sustainable future I did a very unfashionable thing. I went for a drive. Luckily I had Leaky so very little fuel was used but it was nice to hit some back roads and remember how fantastically original Minis go around corners even on slick, wet tarseal, gravel and clay. I did have to ford a river a few times though and that reminded me how many holes there are in the floor and eventually, how poorly sealed the electrics are. Still, in true Leaky style I managed to limp the last 2km home on two cylinders...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.