Diving duck

A bit of a puzzle, this one. It's a female; probably a Tufted Duck, but so much white at the base of the bill makes me think that it might be a cross with a Greater Scaup
(i.e. Aythya fuligula X marila).
If anyone has more certain knowledge, please let me know!
Anyway, it's on the new camera, which I have been trying out...all the jpegs out of the camera need a bit of sharpening and saturating, to my taste. The zoom is amazing, with respectable results even with a bit of digital zoom, which seems to go up to a 35mm equivalent of over 1200 mm!
It's not for seriously creative work, but it should come in handy for slipping into a pocket and having on me :)
This morning was spent alottmenteering, digging over beds as the crops were harvested. We have just eaten our very first ever home-grown cucumber :^D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.