Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Desert rose

Desert sky
Dream beneath the desert sky
The rivers run, but soon run dry
We need new dreams tonight

Desert rose
Dreamed I saw a desert rose
Dress torn in ribbons and in bows
Like a siren she calls to me



More from the Joshua Tree National Park with my sister Geraldine and husband Mark, Callum's godparents.

The story went something like this. Lounging by the pool all day, the pools frolicking, swimming, drinking daquiris (the girls, not the boys) and Geraldine, Mark and the boys bathed, I was still all messy from the day. I knew I wanted to capture them in the desert at sunset, but the light faded an hour earlier behind the mountains than it would on the coast, so we all dashed in the car, me dishevelled and we hurtled out into the edge of the naked desert to capture these.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.