Dubreyferkin Diaries

By StrictlyDavina

Reflections

This is All Saints Church in Botley, Hampshire. This church has been a part of my life for so many years. You could say that it is where it all began as this is the church where my Mother and Father got married. It is such a lovely church situated in the centre of the village.

It is also the church where my Grandparents and Great Grandparents are buried and it is the church where all of my cousins got married. Each time we visit Hampshire, we always visit graves and place flowers on each. I only wish that the church was nearer so that I could visit more often.

When I was in the Army, I was based just down the road in Winchester and latterly in Tidworth, so I could visit each week. My Grandfather was in the Royal Navy (First Office to the Late King George) and died 4 months after I joined the Army. When I had compasionate leave to attend his funeral, I asked permission to wear my No1 uniform. I was told that I would have special dispensation in order to do so and that I could wear his medals. My Commanding Officer told me that as my Grandfather was an officer, I had to make sure that I saluted the coffin as it was lowered in the grave. As a new private in the Army, this was a big thing. However, I managed to carry out the orders amongst many a tear. That day made me even more determined to make a success of my Army career (however long it was going to be) and more than anything else, to make my Grandfather proud.

Another of my cousins has just got engaged and is hoping to get married here next year - she's not one to break tradition.

All Saints holds happy and sad memories for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.