Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Evening Visitor

Best viewed BIG!

Once again I thought I had my blip for today - once again I was wrong! As I went to wash up my dinner things tonight this moth was on the outside of my kitchen window. I've not blipped a moth before, even by day, so I pulled the curtain across, grabbed my headtorch and camera and proceeded to grab some shots of it from outside.
Due to the shallow 'W' across the upper wings, the small blobs in the outer corners of those wings and the heavily feathered antennae my reckoning is that this is a male Feathered Thorn - if anyone knows better please correct me! I love its beautiful tapered collar of thick hairs.

This morning befrore work I saw this tiny snail outside on my kitchen window frame. Its shell was hardly 1/2" across. What a sweetie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.