Red Admiral Day

Best viewed red admiral day large

Such an incredible butterfly. It can be seen all year round if the Winter is mild. It can live anywhere from shore, to inland, to the top of mountains. They love Ivy flowers, bramble & most of all they LOVE rotting fruit. This one spent most of her day drinking from rotten apples - so by the last rays of the sunshine she was slightly drunk & at one point landed on my nose! :) The female is larger then the male & I saw a male chasing this particular one this afternoon... she so wanted to sunbathe, he had other ideas! ;-)

Little Larry had completely forgiven me...

He was relaxed & happy

And more surprisingly, he was tolerating Elgar, who certainly made his presence known, I had conversations with him in the front garden!

I told him how handsome he looked

And he certainly agreed!

But my heart belongs to Larry

Charlie on the other hand.... kept still, for this!

Charlie Cat's Eye

Thanks for the great comments from yesterday's The Enigma Returns
- I took a film of Elgar sitting on a branch chatting to me & Lil'Larry singing louder & louder above him, hidden in the leaves... I'll need to upload it onto youtube asap!

I hope everyone is having a good weekend - glorious weather here for once - but it was a day cleaning out bird boxes - this is the best time to do it... October/November. We have around 20 boxes dotted around, so far cleaned 10 out & all were used! So it has indeed been a very good year! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.