Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

A Look To The Tumacacori

A few days ago, I took a road trip down towards Tubac and looked towards the east at the Santa Rita Mountains.

I took off down the road in the same direction today, pulled off into the same parking lot and looked toward the west. This is a view of the Tumacacori Mountains.

The Tumacacori [Tu ma kock' or ee] Mountains lay on the Tohono O'odom Indian Reservation, the largest in the nation. The Tumacacori Mission was established there in 1691 by the Spaniard, Father Eusebio Francisco Kino. It is the oldest Mission in Arizona. The area was declared a National Historic Landmark by President Theodore Roosevelt in 1908.


We're expected to be near the record high temperature of 98F today. I've had to close up the house and turn on the a/c for the past several days. I can't wait until it cools down to normal again. I like normal...it's, well...normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.