Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

The ''Gin Case'' Pt 2.

After yesterday's sorty in to the wilderness, we thought we'd try again.

Today we took off again, this time knowing whence we were bound.
Cholesterol fix in Cranston's (All day breakfast) thence on to the Lyth valley at a moderate rate of knots.
Found the abode of the Hon. Sec. Westmorland Damson Association, not at home, Bugg Writt.

Proceeded along the A5074 in a generally Kendalish direction. En route found a rather fine road-side Farmer's market. (Only one farmer) It seems the damsons were about a fortnight early this year so...
A) We'd missed them.
B) The stall had none left.
Apparently Hon sec buys up all leftovers and sells them as frozen through the year, double Bugg Writt.

Continued on out way, into Terra Incognito (Here be dragons). I found a view I thought I'd try the filters on.
While I was, generally, fossicking around the filters I heard a pant approaching.
Said pant belonged to what I refer to as a ''Cock-eyed Spaniard'' (Cocker Spaniel).
Mrs. Spaniel and I got chatting and, of course, I did my little bit of Blip-recruitment, (As you do.) and explained what we were doing in that neck o' the woods.
"Oh." She said "I have some frozen from 2009 you're welcome to." Phrase sprung to mind about gift horses and mouths etc.

We rendezvoused at the vicarage, seems she was the vicar's Mrs.
NOT to be confused with Mrs. Vicar. (Thank God for Vicars)

Home via Kendal Morrison's ... Do not collect £200, do collect 2.5ltrs of cheap Gin.

Looks like the Sabbath will be occupied crushing thawed damsons and pricking unfrozen Sloes.

OH! The Blip? Well what a way to spend a Sunny Saturday. A gang of youths and not so youths were hard at it setting up the battle grounds, they fled at the sight of a camera, just like our crows & Magpies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.