'Eyes Like Stars'

By ZombieButterfly

You know that feeling...

You take a photo thinking it'll have be good because you have no other ideas.

It didn't turn out good.But it's been a crappy 10 - 6 Sunday and my feet hurt so I'm sorry =(

Anyway, this is Westgate Towers and to the right with the adjoining glass bridge is the City Gaol Cafe.

(All info I'm getting is from Canterbury Westgate Towers website and Wikipedia)

The towers are apparently the UK's largest remaining medieval gateway, the last of seven gateways to the heart of the city. It was originally built in 1380 but the city was originally walled by the Romans in 300AD. At the time of the Norman conquest there were gates, which are thought to have been Roman. It's built with Kentish ragstone and once there was a drawbridge overlooking the River Stour. It also has 18 gunloops.

I can't find out much more that doesn't go in to loads of detail (I'm basically too lazy to re-write someone elses hard work) so if you're interested in the history of Canterbury, I suggest you click on the links =) It is quite interesting, it's insane how many historical links go through this one city.

I've only lived here for just over a year and I haven't visited a lot of the landmarks properly. I refuse to fork out for the Cathedral, I think the Gaol Cafe may be a wee bit expensive and I probably can't be bothered paying for other attractions or to share the experience with school kids from other countries (I have to work in the city high street so have to deal with them on a daily basis anyway) who have no idea of the kind of manners we expect here. It'd be nice to visit them one day though.

I have just been reminded by my dad that British kids are probably just as annoying when they go abroad, which I had neglected to mention! But I have a feeling that possibly elsewhere throughout Europe that shopkeepers/workers are more free to tell kids off if they are rude or misbehave than we are here, possibly? I haven't a clue, so I would be interested to be told =)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.