The only glimpse of the sun

Well I wouldn't say I had to be up too early to catch it but if I hadn't looked out of the window and caught a glimmer of pink on the horizon I probably would have done. When I see ships on the horizon I always think of Gert, though I think he is still in port in Holland and this ship is probably a container ship anyway,

The remainder of the day was very grey and miserable. We headed to Craster and walked out towards the castle. My dad's ambition was to be able to walk the two and a half miles to the golf club, stopping off at the castle on the way. We'd agreed that Ann would walk with him and that I'd take mum back to the car and we'd drive round to collect them. After dropping her off at the golf club, so she could get a coffee, I set off back for Dunston Steads where I could pick them up. (A walk of perhaps quarter of a mile and a drive of almost two and a half.) After spending ten/fifteen minutes on top of a dune, binoculars to my eyes, I eventually spotted them coming along (much to my relief). I hadn't expected them to take quite so long! Apparently they had stopped off in the castle grounds enroute (which, had I known it was one of my dad's main aims). I needn't have rushed or got quite so anxious. Well apparently Ann had been texting me to say, but my phone was in my bag as I thpught there wasn't a signal (according to the Nat Trust man anyway.) In fact the whole mobile signal is much improved and I even managed to get the internet on it in the cottage - unheard of! The problem is that my phone is pretty basic and not really internet friendly - maybe it's time to replace it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.