Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Introducing Damien

This is Damien the dragon decoy. I thought that Damien might make an interesting experiment. Obviously I was hoping for some dragon interaction, but it didn't really happen. One dragon came down to inspect Damien for a second and left, this happened only minutes after putting the decoy up, so I was quite excited at the prospects, but nada.

I setup for bee shots, with Damien just a few feet away, ready for hand held shots. After about a dozen hits from butterflies and nothing in the bee department, I decided to setup for tripod pre-focus on the decoy. The blip is a combo of three separate butterfly inspections.

The strange thing was that only one species of butterfly took any interest in Damien and it seemed that they could not fly past without taking a look. Several wasps took an interest too, one particular wasp got very aggressive, circling around a few times before landing on the head. It may even have attempted to sting Damien, but my eyesight is just not that good.

I am going to exercise Damien a few more days and then try different colors and see what develops. I should get a few more blips out of it, maybe a mini series. I hope so anyway, as a lot of work went into the manufacture of the decoy, took me a couple of hours just to prepare the wings.

My friendly neighbor helper arrived on the scene today. After a couple of minutes he got quite excited and was trying to point to the bright red dragonfly without waving his arms about. This was good, he has learnt about stealth. We had a good laugh after I reached over and flicked the dragons wings with my finger. Well at least it fooled humans, if not dragons.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.