That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Sign Of The Times

I've been meaning to blip this for a long time and I was reminded of it when I went to Morningside today. Perhaps the watching for salmon on the falls yesterday nudged my memory.

Whilst there are still many pestle-and-mortar signs to be seen around town, indicating the presence of an apothecary or pharmacy, I see very few of the fish, indicating, as one would expect, a fishmonger. In fact, I think I'll try to record any that I do see.

Naturally, there are fewer fishmongers than pharmacies but, of these, hardly any have the old sign.

This fishmonger was well-established when I started shopping there 35 years ago and has changed hands in that time but, sadly, as it recently ceased trading, it may be that this fish will disappear too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.