Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Lanark

I'm re-reading my favourite book again at the moment. A hugely inventive story from one of the great Scottish authors and, in my opinion, Scotland's greatest living author.

Not only is he a great author but, in my opinion, he's a great artist too and this is possibly my favourite illustration from the book. There is so much detail in the image and I love the text he has added.

"By arts is formed that great mechanical man called a state, foremost of the beasts of the Earth for pride."

My favourite thing about this image however is not too distinct in this photo. It's the view of the central belt of Scotland from west to east as if taken from the top of an imaginary and incredibly tall mountain located somewhere in the Atlantic.

anyway if you haven't read Lanark yet, I'd suggest you buy a copy and read it. You really won't regret it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.