The Phoenix Rises

By sheilaM

Boat house lunch

The clan gathered at the Boat house for lunch.

Mum was even more fragile than I'd feared. She'd had a fall and no-one had told us or her carers. It's not good.
A call to the GP on Monday is in order.
She has shrunk in height which is probably due to spinal compression fractures.

I write this, I admit quite plainly and I make no excuse for it, for it debriefs me and helps me cope.

I found it very difficult today helping my very proud and somewhat proudish Mother to bathe and dress. I washed and set curls in her hair, picked out some clothes that I knew she liked and physically lifted her to help her dress. She struggled bravely and beautifully, but like a brittle china doll, so very delicate, but strong.
This is a huge retrograde step for her. She has never allowed me or anyone else to help her dress completly, but now she has had to ask for help.

How do I feel about this?

When you become the parent to your own parents, it is a truely sad day.

We left the boathouse and the AA had to rescue us, well cable tie our broken gear linkage, so we could limp home.

We all felt a little less solid today than before.........




Lunch; Goats cheese starter, followed by Scallops.

NTS : 6

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.