alice's adventures

By aliceblips

Keeping up with the boys

Someone's started a Blip craze and I want to join in.

The phenomenon of holding a bike above one's head seems, thus far, to be reserved for boys/men/dads having achieved great cycling feats.

Today, I too achieved what can only be described as a true test of endurance, both mentally and physically.

I was pushed to new limits and am now putting the girls/women/mothers in the spotlight.

I made the epic three quater of a mile journey (and back), by bike, to our local park with the boys in tow speeding ahead.

Our pre-mapped and strategic route was changed at the last minute though.

Not due to the direction of the wind, instead due to the most hyperventilative (that word doesn't exist, I've just invented it)
tantrum I think i've ever witnessed on a bike ride.

I hold this child's bike triumphantly above my head (on our garage roof in the drizzle - it's a common place for emergency blips) as a symbol of having achieved my challenge of being a parent firmly in control.

I find it quite odd that my partner didn't seem remotely unsettled by having to take a photo of me on the roof of the garage when he got home from work.
Odd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.