SomeGuyInNJ

By SomeGuyInNJ

Hand held outa the window 33rd floor...

... well you dont want to shoot at an angle through dirty glass do you?

Yesterdays backblip was my 365.

After getting back to the hotel after the taking the shot Ive wangled into being my 365 I had to get some after midnight shots out of the hotel window. So, safety first of course, I put the strap around my neck so the camera didnt meet 42nd street rather sharply if I slipped. Then I opened the window all 2 inches that it would travel without me "modifying it". Wedged it against the outside of the glass as best I could and took this 2 second exposure. Its not 100% as sharp as I would like but given the contorted cicumstances the shot was taken under I think I can forgive myself :-)

For those that dont know, the big pointy thing is the Chrysler Building. It was once, for a short period of time, the tallest building in the world.

The glass down the left side of the image is of course part of the building i was stood in... well kneeling in for these shots actually.

The orangy glow in the middle to bottom left of the shot is Grand Central Station.

I got some better shots of the Chrysler building with a huge amount more detail that will look good as large prints, but I thought that for your blipping delight today I would show you this shot... you get a few light trails and the side of my building thrown in for a freebie... Dont say I never give you anything!

I'm blipping out of order so my 365 will actually be yesterdays backblip that I will post shortly... Somehow suiting for my recent blipping habits that my 365 has ended up being a backblip :-) I'm not going to do the traditional self portrait for my 365... Maybe I'll do a selfy soon.. but not today :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.