Eye

Today I went off for my 2 yearly eye test by a local optician. After patronising VisionExpress and Specsavers I decided to make the change to this lady who has a small practise/shop in the Crown area of Inverness. She's very thorough taking the best part of an hour (and sometimes more) with the tests. The first year she told me I didn't need anything new. Two years ago I bought a pair of varifocals. Today again she said the basic prescription was OK and I didn't really need anything. But I'd mentioned that if I was using the computer and referring to a book (or a credit card if I was buying something) I was finding myself changing glasses. So she suggested glasses which many customers had found helpful in that situation - sort of reading bifocals set for two distances. No pressure applied but it sounded a good idea so we'll see how it works. Even if I was fashion conscious (I'm not) I won't be wearing them in public. The receptionist seemed to think anyone who chooses frames in less than a couple of minutes should be sent straight to the loony bin (sorry I meant psychiatric hospital). The optician/optometrist took pictures of my retina and I realised too late I should have asked to take a snap for blip of the screen which just looked like rivers and tributaries. I sure it wouldn't have been a problem. In the end I compromised with this picture of the outside bit. It would have been much easier if I'd got Mrs P to take it during her lunch break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.