Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Piper at the Gates of Bradford

For the past few weeks, this huge portrait of Syd Barrett by Douglas Gordon has been looking out over Bradford city centre, from the Impressions Gallery window, as part of the Ways of Looking photography festival.

Shine on You Crazy Diamond was the song that Pink Floyd wrote about their former leader, who was one of the key innovators in the psychedelic music scene of the late 60s. Piper at the Gates of Dawn is the Floyd album for which he is most remembered. I'm more a child of the 70s rather than the 60s, so it was the later Floyd that I grew up with. I think the first time I heard a Barrett song it was Bowie's cover version of See Emily Play on Pinups, but as time has gone on I've learned more about the mythology of Barrett.

Quite what a man who retired from public life would have made of being displayed in such a prominent public position, I don't know.

The alert amongst you will pick up yet another reflection of the Bradford Odeon domes at the bottom of the picture.

staring ~ at the city ~ through the doors ~ of perception ~ dawn piper

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.