Bevosity

By bevwestwood

RSPB Saltholme

Today my parents and I drove up to the other side of Middlesbrough - 80 miles and still in Yorkshire - to RSPB Saltholme. There we met a Twitpal - Adam - who is one of the hide guides. We were supposed to meet up in August but the weather was awful. Today was MUCH better though a little breezy (understatement).

Saltholme was created on reclaimed industrial land and is surrounded by industry of one sort or another. As you can see, it's not that far from the iconic transporter bridge (a familiar sight for me having spent part of my childhood in Newport, South Wales where there is another example)

The habitat is ideal for water birds of all kinds with large stretches of water.

Here is another view from the reserve with Roseberry Topping just visible through the mist.

There were lots of birds around the reserve - geese and ducks the most obvious.
Beautiful flocks of Lapwing and Golden Plover were also clearly visible. I was fortunate enough to get a view of a lone Grey Plover located by one of the hide guides. Wouldn'thave spotted it otherwise!

There were also a couple of Goldeneye. Sorry about the image quality but it was quite a distance away and it was extremely windy.

Those of you who have read this journal know that I live near RSPB Minsmere. There I am lucky to regularly see Marsh Harriers - birds not seen very often at Saltholme. Blow me if, whilst sitting in a hide, I don't suddenly spot a familiar shape in the distance. "Isn't that a Harrier?" I say. Great excitement ensues in the hide. Not only that but a second one appeared a few minutes later.

All in all a very successful and interesting day. Rather tired now but well worth the trip and many thanks to Adam for being such a pleasant host.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.